A Dates affair……. Sheik Shake !

Easy, iron-rich and a tummy filling shake!

I’m constantly in need of quick and tummy filling recipes for my kid and this one’s quiet a hit at home. I definitely make this when I have to get my daughter to quickly eat something filling (like before her class) or sometimes a couple of hours before I take her out to a dinner party or a get-together. So even if the dinner is served a bit late…this holds her up!

We all know the goodness of dates. High in fiber and very very high in iron. It’s a great source to increase the hemoglobin (Red blood cells) in your blood.

Image

This is a thick and a healthy shake ready in no-time! Look at the glass on left…I’ve poured half a glass of plain milk over half a glass of the shake. It just doesn’t mix until you stir them together!

Here’s what you’ll need to make 1 glass :

  • Dates : 4-5 pieces (I used Medjool dates)
  • Milk : ½ cup

Method: Deseed and soak the dates in hot water for 15 mins. This will make them moist and soft. Drain the water and blend the dates with a little bit of milk. After it becomes a smooth paste, add rest of the milk and blend again. Serve chilled! (or hot!)

Tip : If you want to make it light, add more milk.

4 thoughts on “A Dates affair……. Sheik Shake !

  1. Thanks 🙂 I’ve tried making really thick shakes and freezing portions. So when I want, I put one portion in the fridge over night and drink them next day. A natural way to boost ur potassium. Hope u try it.

Leave a Reply

