Baby’s hand print impressions – DIY craft recipe

Colorful impressions for a lifetime.  I feel like 5 yrs old today. I mean, in a good way.

Ok – One picture says a thousand words but I think one craft says a thousand stories. I have been seeing so many baby hand prints or footprint casts being sold in the market but somehow never wanted to buy those. When I was in India I’d also heard about a few companies that would come home to make the cast, but I felt they were way too over priced and decided to go with the age-old hand stamp on paper for my daughter and son. But today, on my sons 9th month birthday I decided to make his hand impressions cast at home to make it more special and freeze a moment in time forever : -)  Also to show off the work of a patient mom (my today’s special!) and a hyper daughter.

DSC_1564

Hand print impression of my son (9 mo) that my daughter (3yo) and I made today!

This is a rock (really!) treasure for a lifetime. I made this cast and baked it for a few hours and let my 3 yr old daughter paint it first. I then later gave a second coat to fill up the flaws. By involving her in this, I also get my daughter to love this piece just as much as my son will when they grow up. These are memories they will cherish.  I also hope to go to IKEA , hopefully sometime soon to buy a glass frame they have specifically for 3D objects so that I can frame it up at home to make this more child-proof!

So here’s what you need to make this : 

  • Flour : 1 cup
  • Salt    : 1 cup (Preferably free-flowing micro-granular salt)
  • Water
  • Poster color of your choice and paintbrush

Method :

  1. Combine Flour + salt and slowly add water to make a non-sticky dough. Knead well.
  2. Roll out a thick circle with a rolling pin and place it in a baking tray
  3. Carefully hold ur baby’s hand / leg and press it firmly to make an impression on the dough
  4. Preheat oven at 150C. Bake for about 3 hours (or until it becomes a solid rock). Or you can let it sun dry for a few days.
  5. Let it cool completely and using a  poster color of your choice paint it well. That’s it.

You have made a colorful impression of your child, for a lifetime !  (Hmmm, I think I killed the joke the second time now) Never mind, I’m 5 yrs old today.

Image

FYI – this is how it looked just out of the oven.

Happy Parenting. Have fun.

One thought on “Baby’s hand print impressions – DIY craft recipe

  1. Pingback: Keepsake Easter bunnies and eggs! – DIY bake craft. | The Mammas Club

Leave a Reply

