Appetizer #4 : Potato souffle !

I’m going Irish tonight. Presenting potato souffle!!! . Remember to make it for next St.Patricks day!

 Souffle means light, airy or puffy…. I have never gotten a sweet soufflé right in my life simply because I can never get the light airy texture right. Today after a lot of soufflé reading I tried a savoury soufflé and it came out quite well. I’m impressed. I think I am ready for a dessert soufflé 😉

Image

Here is the recipe:

You’ll need :

  • Large potatoes : 2 (peeled, boiled n mashed well)
  • Butter : 2 tbsp
  • Onion : ½ (finely chopped)
  • Egg 1 (Separated)
  • Cream : 2-3 tbsp
  • Sour cream : 1-1.5 tbsp
  • Salt and pepper
  • Herbs : 1 tbsp (Dried Italian seasoning will do)
  • Cheddar : ½ cup (shredded)

Method :

  1. Sautee onions over butter until tender.  Add this to the mashed potatoes.  Add th egg yolks + sour cream + regular cream. Mix well.
  2. Add herbs + Cheese and mix until smooth
  3. Beat egg whites until stiff peaks form. (This is the reason why I never got a soufflé right). Dont be afraid to beat. Keep beating…this is a bit of a work. If using hand-held elecrtic blender you might have to blend for about 8-10 mins!
  4. Mix the egg white peaks 1 tbsp at a time to the potato mixture
  5. Pour batter into ramekin or any cup. I used simple tea  cups 🙂
  6. Bake at 350 F for about 30 – 35 mins until it has puffed and cracked up a bit like in the pic.  It’s ready!

Tip : Beating egg whites until peaks form is the key to a good soufflé!

Below is the picture of a second cup. This recipe make about 4 cups. 

Image

Bon appetite 🙂 Happy Parenting!

2 thoughts on “Appetizer #4 : Potato souffle !

  1. Great recipe…Thank you!
    Q Is this souffle rises above the cup if I put it in remkin that is shorter than yours? I intend to make this for a dinner party and just want a nice presentation. (haha I’m afraid that it might flop out of the cup if I do.)

    • Heyyy…..it does rise a bit to become nice and fluffy… So fill your cup 3/4th and you’ll be fine. It’ll also make a nice presentation when it brims upto the rim of the ramekin!! Have a great party…let me know how to turned out :))

Leave a Reply

